I am Australian: a new verse for asylum seekers

I AM AUSTRALIAN[1]


We are one, but we are many,

And from all the lands on earth we come.

We’ll share a dream and sing with one voice:

“I am, you are, we are Australian”

 

 

 I’m a child of war and conflict[2]

I sought refuge in this land

A child of two on a long sea voyage

I held my mother’s hand

 

My father lost, my siblings drowned

My history left behind

Found rest and peace in this new land

I am Australian

 


We are one, but we are many,

And from all the lands on earth we come.

We’ll share a dream and sing with one voice:

“I am, you are, we are Australian”

 

 

[1] Words and music by Bruce Woodley 1987, 2009 sung by Dante Musica Viva Choir of the Dante Alighieri Society, Canberra

[2] Additonal verse by Michelina Ferraro 2011 member of the Dante Musica Viva choir of the Dante Alighieri Society, Canberra

About lalegale

Legal and psychological advocate for freedom of political communication.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

