Trust in government?

You may have heard about the psychologist groups that have been set up in the US whose primary function is to help American citizens come to terms with the fact that their government may have been responsible for the 9/11 Twin Tower collapses (including building 7). The material from the Architects and Engineers for 9/11 Truth group have much information on this interpretation of events.
In my own case, I feel as if I have unwittingly, and unwantingly, passed through a transformation in regards to government. I have always trusted government, and when I started working for the Department of Immigration and Citizenship in 2006 I was really proud to do so, feeling that I was doing my little bit to help run the country.
I remember at the time, perhaps having a kind of prescience of what was to come, contemplating the thought that, while I was an admirer of the government as being led by John Howard, how would I feel about working for government that did not have my respect?
The fact is that I have completed that transformation and I feel considerable grief, realising that, while I might value government and want to be part of it, that government is populated by rather ghastly people who daily breach the APS Code of Conduct without repercussions, thus perpetrating injustice against employees.
In what can only be described as bitter irony, the people in my case, have breached the very APS Code of Conduct of which they accuse me of breaching, but of which I have been a constant and staunch supporter.
As I read through old material in preparation for my case, I wonder how naive I was to appeal to Values and Conduct for help when things were going badly on the floor, as it were. It seems in retrospect, that while I believed that Values and Conduct were there to assist me, a staff member, I was wrong. Instead they are there to protect management. It’s almost as if the more complaints you make to them, the more evidence they collect against you.
I feel sad at the thought that my grandchildren, and their peers, and other adults, need to live in a country with such a public service. Apart from the grief that I feel about being unemployed, this other grief feels rather worse. Part of the reason that i am perservering with the legal action, is to try to bring such actions into the open – just one little step at a time.
This morning I read a quote from Allan Kessing, in response to a journalist’s questions about his house being burned to the ground in the NSW fires. He said:  Now that my house has burned down, my view of the scenery is no longer obscured
 
That’s how I feel about what has happened with DIAC, my former employer. Now that my employment has ended, my view of the department and its agents, is no longer obscured.
About lalegale

Legal and psychological advocate for freedom of political communication.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trust in government?

  1. Sorry to hear that you feel betrayed by the public service, but why on earth did you feel proud working for DIC under the Howard reign…especially after the children overboard affair??? If that wasn’t an indication of the lies perpetrated by government then I don’t know what is.

    • lalegale says:

      Well, we learn as time goes on, and as we have more information to hand. I wasn’t so familiar with the Refugee Convention in those days. Also, it was not until I started to work in the public service that I began to pay more attention to what was happening in regard to asylum seeker practices and policies. Ultimately, my concern is not even so much on the question of asylum, but on the question of acting in accordance with the Refugee Convention. For me, it’s a matter of whether our government’s act lawfully, and whether the advice that the public service gives to changing parliamentary representatives, is, indeed, frank and fearless. In regard to the current asylum seeker policies, I would ask the question: Is there really no lawyer employed in the public service who is unable to advise government that its actions are contrary to the Refugee Convention?

  2. i agree, which is why the latest rhetoric is so concerning. The issue has become so politicised that the public forgets that these are people we are dealing with.

Leave a Reply

